

Mr Barry Cotter Chair: Sydney Airport Community Forum

Ms Maria Patrinos Community Representative

Mr Kevin Hill Community Representative

The Hon John Murphy MP Federal Member for Lowe

The Hon Tanya Plibersek MP

The Hon Peter Garrett MP Federal Member for Kingsford-Smith

The Hon Tony Burke MP Federal Member for Watson

The Hon Robert McClelland MP Federal Member for Barton

The Hon Joe Hockey MP Federal Member for North Sydney

The Hon Maxine McKew MP Federal Member for Bennelong

The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Federal Member for Bradfield

The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP Federal Member for Wentworth

Mr Scott Morrison MP Federal Member for Cook

The Hon Kristina Keneally MP State Member for Heffron

The Hon Frank Sartor MP State Member for Rockdale

The Hon Carmel Tebbutt MP State Member for Marrickville

Ms Clover Moore MP State Member for Sydney Lord Mayor of Sydney

Cr Sam Iskandar Mayor of Marrickville

Cr Ron Hoenig Mayor of Botany Bay

Cr Jamie Parker Mayor of Leichhardt

Cr Ted Cassidy Mayor of Ashfield

Cr Robert Furolo Mayor of Canterbury

Cr Lorraine Kelly Mayor of Sutherland Shire

Mr Russell Balding CEO, Sydney Airport Corporation Ltd

Captain Rob Edney Australian Airline Industry

Mr Warren Bennett Board of Airline Representatives of Australia 16 April 2010

The Hon Anthony Albanese MP Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Dear Minister

I am writing to convey the key outcomes of the meeting of the Sydney Airport Community Forum (SACF) held on 19 February 2010.

Discussion continued on the concentration of aircraft flying over the Cook and Lowe areas. Questions were raised about the height of the aircraft on the concentrated flight path and also about the predictions that had been contained in the environmental assessment of the flight path prior to its introduction. Members stressed the need to find ways to address the current situation. It was agreed that this issue would be examined further in the LTOP Implementation and Monitoring Committee (IMC).

The Department and Airservices updated SACF members on the joint study into new technology, which is being established to examine the potential for introducing new navigation technologies in a way that can assist noise sharing. The Terms of Reference for this study are now being finalised and members expressed a strong interest in being given the opportunity to comment on the draft terms of reference before they are sent to you for consideration.

SACF briefly discussed the submission to the Senate Enquiry into the effectiveness of Airservices Australia's management of aircraft noise. SACF had been granted an extension to lodge its submission until 5 March 2010.

Discussion on the Aircraft Noise Affected Residents Compensation Scheme (ANARCS) proposal (developed by community representative Kevin Hill) revolved around how to move forward on the proposal and what else was needed before it is submitted for your consideration. Members expressed strong interest in any outstanding monies collected under the *Aircraft Noise Levy Collections Act 1995* being made available for expenditure on projects related to aircraft noise generated by Sydney Airport.

Following extended debate, the Forum resolved:

- To request your support for moneys collected under the *Aircraft Noise Levy Collections Act 1995* be retained to fund noise amelioration measures; and
- Recommend specific noise amelioration measures that the money could be spent on.

The Forum will next meet on Friday, 21 May 2010.

Yours sincerely

Darry Cotte

Mr Barry Cotter SACF Chair