## SYDNEY AIRPORT COMMUNITY FORUM



Dr Brendan Nelson MP

Federal Member for Bradfield Chair

Mr Anthony Albanese MP

The Hon Bruce Baird MP

Cr Mark Bonanno

Mr Bill Bourke
Australian Air Transport Association

Mrs Kerry Chikarovski MLA

Mr John Clarke

Cr Barry Cotter

Cr Mick Frawley

Ms Deirdre Grusovin MLA

Mr Kevin Hill

Cr Steve Holroyd

The Hon Joe Hockey MP Federal Member for North Sydney

Mr David Lidbetter

Mr Robert McClelland MP

Cr Greg Medcraft
Wentworth Community

Mr John Murphy MP

Ms Sandra Nori MLA
State Member for Port Jackson

Ms Maria Patrinos

Mr David Saul

Cr Kevin Schreiber
Mayor of Sutherland Shire

Cr Ross Sheerin

Cr Dominic Sullivan

Cr Fran Teirney

Secretariat: PO Box A301 Sydney South NSW 1235

[Freecall NSW]

Tel: 1800 812 069 Fax: 02 - 62747947 11 June 1999

The Hon John Anderson MP Minister for Transport and Regional Services Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

## Dear Minister

I am writing to convey the resolutions from the 19<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Sydney Airport Community Forum (SACF) held on 28 May 1999. Members adopted the following resolutions and resolved that these be forwarded to you for your consideration.

The members discussed the inadequacy of the briefing notes in relation to specifying the objectives of LTOP regarding aircraft movement targets. The meeting agreed that the following resolution, passed at the 26 February 1999 meeting be resubmitted to you to consider again:

That the Minister report monthly to the community on actual vs target percentage of total movements by North, south, East and West quadrants and on progress towards targets since last report.

That a LTOP implementation program and management plan be promulgated by the Minister with target dates and responsibilities.

The meeting also discussed the issue of reciprocity of flight tracks particularly in relation to Mode 6A. The meeting passed the following resolutions:

Consistent with the underlying principle of Recommendation 30 of the Airservices Australia December 1996 LTOP Report, SACF reaffirms the LTOP philosophy for non-reciprocal flight paths. SACF also reiterates its concern and seeks assurance that assessment of any new modes be preceded by comprehensive community consultation and stringent environmental assessment.

The meeting discussed the Regulations concerning fuel spillage, and in particular that there is no provision for repeat offenders to be banned from operating in Australia. The Meeting passed the following motion on this issue:

SACF expresses alarm at the repeated incidents of fuel venting over the community in the vicinity of Sydney Airport. We note that in spite of government commitments by Minister John Sharp to Question 1557 on 24 June 1997, no regulations have been introduced.

That SACF demands the Government introduce regulations which would include substantial fines and provision to ban repeat offenders such as Evergreen Airlines from Sydney Airport during the next Parliamentary sitting week beginning 31 May 1999.

The Meeting agreed to support the applications by Peter Taylor Aircraft Sales and Capital Jet Charter to have certain small 'low noise' jets added to the gazetted list under Section 15 of the *Sydney Airport Curfew Act 1995*. In doing so, the Forum would want to see a general 'clean out' of the list to remove aircraft no longer operating and for regular reviews of the list. Additionally, members expressed concern at the operation of older propeller aircraft types during the curfew hours and passed the following resolution:

SACF calls for a review of older planes currently allowed access to Sydney Airport after the curfew.

I would be grateful for your early consideration of these matters.

Yours sincerely

Signed by Chair 11 June 1999

Dr Brendan Nelson MP Chair Sydney Airport Community Forum